By default, any WhatsApp user can see your WhatsApp last seen, profile photo, about and all your WhatsApp contacts can see your WhatsApp status.
If you wish, you can change the privacy of the options mentioned above and here’s how you can do that on Android:
Change Privacy of Last Seen, Profile Picture and About
Hit the Overflow Menu (three vertical dots) which you can find besides Search icon at the top.
Tap Settings > Account > Privacy.
Now, you can see a pop-up with these three options:
Everyone – This is the default option. It means that anyone can see it.
My contacts – It means that only your WhatsApp contacts can see it.
Nobody – It means that no one can see it.
Hit the one you prefer. I’ve selected “Nobody.”
That’s it. All done.
Change Privacy of WhatsApp Status
Hit the Status which you can find in Who can see my personal info section (Tap Overflow Menu (three vertical dots) at the top > Settings > Account > Privacy to see this section).
Now, you can see the following three options:
My contacts – This is the default option. It means that all your WhatsApp contacts can see it.
My contacts except – It means that all your WhatsApp contacts can see it except the ones you’ve selected.
Only share with – It means that only the WhatsApp contacts you’ve selected can see it.
Select the one as per your wish. I choose the Only share with option, selected the preferred WhatsApp contact, and then hit the “Tick” icon.
That’s it. All done.
- Changing status privacy will not affect the already posted status.
- If you’ve disabled read receipts, then you can’t see who’s viewed your status.
- If a contact of yours has disabled read receipts, then you can’t see that they’ve viewed your status.
Tap the Live location option in the Who can see my personal info section, and you can see all the contacts and groups with whom you’re sharing your location now.
If you want to stop location sharing with a single contact or group, then tap on it, and you’ll be in chat screen of theirs. Find Stop sharing option, hit it and then hit Stop in the confirmation pop-up.
If you want to stop sharing your location with all of them at once, hit Stop sharing option and then tap Stop in the confirmation pop-up.