WhatsApp Live Location: What is it and How to Use it?

Recently, WhatsApp has added "Live Location" feature and here we are gonna see about it in detail.

WhatsApp Live Location

What’s this Live Location Feature will do?

This feature allows you to share your location in real-time for a specific amount of time with the contact you choose.

Your location will be shared until you manually stop it or the amount of time you specified expires. Note that you can stop sharing at any time you want.

This is an “end-to-end" encrypted feature and it will let your loved ones and friends to know where you are and lets them track your location. You can use this feature when you are up for a meeting with your friends or while you are traveling to the unfamiliar place.

So, How to Use this feature?

You can use this feature on the individual chat or a group chat. In this instance, I’m using this feature in the individual chat.

Before using this feature, make sure you’ve turned on “Location” on your device. Otherwise, you’ll be prompted by the WhatsApp to do so.

Steps

  • angle-double-right
    Open the chat of a contact with whom you want to share your location in real-time.
  • angle-double-right
    Tap Attach (Paperclip) icon in the compose box.

Whatsapp attach icon
  • angle-double-right
    Tap Location.

Location option of whatsapp
  • angle-double-right
    In the popup, tap "Continue" to allow the WhatsApp to access your location. In the next popup, tap "Allow".

  • angle-double-right
    Now, hit “Share live location” underneath the map.

Share live location option of whatsapp
  • angle-double-right
    In the popup, tap "Continue".

Confirmation popup of live location
  • angle-double-right
    Choose the duration as per your wish. The duration's that are available right now are 15 minutes, 1 hour (default) and 8 hours. You can type the comment if you want.

  • angle-double-right
    Tap "Send" icon.
Duration and comment for live location sharing

Here’s what your screen may look like:

Stop sharing option

You can tap "Stop sharing" and then "Stop" in the confirmation popup to stop Live Location sharing.

Here’s what your recipient screen may look like:

View live location option

They can tap "View Live Location" to see your real-time location.

Here are some other important things to note:

  • You can also tap the map (even you are a sender or receiver) and then tap the Overflow menu (three vertical dots) to explore more options.
  • Go to Settings > Account > Privacy > Live location to see all your active real-time location sharing. You can stop all of them by tapping "Stop sharing" option.

  • In group chat, if multiple participants (contacts) use Live Location feature, then all of their location will be shown on a single map.

Final Thoughts

This feature is really useful and you can use it whenever you need.

I hope this post is useful to you. If you find the information in this post useful, share this post with your friends.

Also see:

Share Your Thoughts

0 Shares
Tweet
Share
+1