How to Turn Off Autoplay on YouTube

YouTube’s Autoplay feature automatically plays suggested video when your current video is finished.

By default, this feature is “turned on” on YouTube. It is a useful one; but, not for all.

If you do not want this feature, then you can turn it off; Here, we will see the steps to do this task on both the YouTube and YouTube app.

Turn Off YouTube Autoplay

PC

This is a simple task, and you can do it within a minute. Here are the steps:

  • angle-double-right
    Open a video on YouTube.
  • angle-double-right
    Find “Up next” section.
  • angle-double-right
    Now you can see a toggle beside “Autoplay.”
Autoplay turned on in youtube
  • angle-double-right
    Click on it to turn off Autoplay.
Autoplay turned off on youtube

There is an alternative way to do this and here are the steps:

  • angle-right
    In the YouTube video player, click on the Settings (Gear icon).
  • angle-right
    In the popup, you can find the "Autoplay" toggle. Click on it to turn off YouTube Autoplay.
Autoplay option on the video player

YouTube App

  • angle-double-right
    Open a video on YouTube app.
  • angle-double-right
    Underneath the video, you can see a toggle beside “Autoplay.”
Autoplay turned on in youtube app
  • angle-double-right
    Tap on it to turn off Autoplay.
Autoplay turned off on youtube app

Note: The above steps can turn off YouTube Autoplay on the Mobile version of the YouTube (m.youtube.com) too.

Alternatively, you can do the same task on the YouTube app by using the following steps:

  • angle-right
    Tap Profile icon (besides Search icon) at the top of the YouTube app.
  • angle-right
    Tap Settings > General.
  • angle-right
    Find and tap the switch on the “Autoplay” option.
Autoplay is turned off via youtube app settings

Here are some important things to note:

  • check
    You can turn on this feature (by tapping the same “toggle”) at any time you want. Until then, it will be in the "turned off" state.
  • check
    In case, if you delete the cookies of the YouTube (Desktop or Mobile version) or delete the data of the YouTube app, then this feature will be turned on automatically.

I hope that the information in this post is useful to you. If you find the information in this post useful, share this post with your friends.​

Also see: