How to Stop WhatsApp From Saving Photos to Camera Roll

WhatsApp for iPhone automatically saves the images and videos you receive to the Camera Roll by default.

You can stop this for individuals and all chats. Let’s see both. I use iPhone (iOS 15.2) here.

How to Stop WhatsApp from Saving Photos to Camera Roll (All Chats)

Note: Remember that this can’t override the single chat “Save to Camera Roll” setting.

Here are the steps:

Open WhatsApp and tap Settings at the bottom.

Select Chats between Account and Notifications.

Between Chat Wallpaper and Chat Backup, you’ll see Save to Camera Roll.

Please turn it off to stop the automatic saving of videos and photos to the Camera Roll. 

That’s it.

Note: You can revert it by turning it on.

How to Stop WhatsApp from Saving Photos to Camera Roll (Individual Chat)

Here are the steps:

Open the conversation and tap the name at the top.

You can see Save to Camera Roll between Wallpaper & Sound and Disappearing Messages. Select it.

On the popup, you’ll see these options:

  • Default (On or Off) – This option will apply the WhatsApp “Save to Camera Roll” setting to this chat (which you’ll see below). The On or Off you see in the parenthesis is the current state of that setting.
  • Always – Always save photos and videos from this chat.
  • Never – Never save photos and videos from this chat. 

Choose the one you prefer.

That’s all.

Thanks for reading.

See: How to Change Default Media Visibility in WhatsApp