How to Start or Stop Recycle Bin Automatic Deletion in Windows 10

In this post, you will see the steps to empty the Recycle Bin and enable or disable automatic deletion of the Recycle Bin in Windows 10. Let us start.

How to Empty Recycle Bin in Windows 10

Right-click on the “Recycle Bin” icon on the desktop and then click on the “Empty Recycle Bin” option.

Press “Yes” in the confirmation pop-up.

That’s it.

Alternative Methods

You can open the Recycle Bin and then take one of the following actions:

  • Click the “Empty Recycle Bin” option, which you can find under the “Recycle Bin Tools” tab in Ribbon at the top. Click “Yes” in the confirmation popup.
  • Right-click on the blank space and then press the “Empty Recycle Bin” option. Click “Yes” in the confirmation popup.
  • Press Ctrl + A and then press the “Delete” key. Click “Yes” in the confirmation popup.

How to Start Automatic Deletion of Recycle Bin in Windows 10

Storage Sense, a feature on Windows 10, automatically deletes content that has been in the Recycle Bin for more than 30 days.

By default, this function is not enabled.

Follow the steps below to turn on Storage Sense:

Open the Settings app.

Click System > Storage.

Above you will see a toggle switch. Activate it.

That’s it. Content that has been in the Recycle Bin for over 30 days will now be automatically deleted.

If you want to change the duration of 30 days, follow the steps below:

Follow steps 1 and 2 of the above section. Now press the Configure Storage Sense or run it now link.

Open the first drop-down list in the Temporary Files section.

You can now see these options – Never, 1 day, 14 days, 30 days, and 60 days. Select the one you prefer.

How to Stop Automatic Deletion of Recycle Bin in Windows 10

You can stop the automatic deletion of the Recycle Bin by following one of the below ways.

Method #1

Open the Settings app and click System > Storage.

Disable the toggle switch at the top.

Method #2

Open the Settings app and click System > Storage.

Click Configure Storage Sense or run it now link.

Now, open the first drop-down list in the Temporary Files section and select Never.

That’s all. From now on, there will be no automatic removal of Recycle Bin content will happen.