How to Activate Facebook Profile Picture Guard

In this post we will see:

How to Activate the Facebook Profile Picture Guard

What is the profile picture guard on Facebook? This is a feature that will help you protect your profile image.

What does the Profile Picture Guard do on Facebook?

If you turn on the profile picture guard:

  • Others will not be able to download or share your profile picture.
  • Others can’t tag your profile picture, just you and your friends.
  • A “Shield” image will be added to your profile picture.

Notes

  • If you cannot find the profile picture guard, it is because this feature is not available for all countries.

With that said, let’s see how to turn it on and off on PC and Android.

Read here: How to Block All Game Requests from Facebook

PC

Note: You can only follow the steps below if you are on classic Facebook.

Log in to your Facebook account.

Go to your Facebook profile and click on your profile picture.

Move your mouse over your profile picture, and you will see “Options.” Press it.

Now you will see the “Turn on the profile picture guard.” Click on it. In the pop-up you will see the preview. Click the “Save” button.

Deactivate Profile Picture Guard on Facebook

Go to your profile.

Click on your profile picture.

Move your mouse over your profile picture, and you will see “Options.” Press it.

Now, click on “Turn off the profile picture guard.” Hit the “Yes” button in the pop-up.

Android

Open the Facebook app.

Go to your profile and then tap your profile picture.

Click on the “Turn On Profile Picture Guard.”

Click the “Next” button. Now you will see the preview. Tap the “Save” button.

Turn Off Profile Picture Guard on FB

Go to your profile.

Click on your profile picture > Turn Off Profile Picture Guard.

Tap “Yes” in the pop-up.

How to Lock Your Facebook Profile

Note: This is not available for all countries at the time of this writing. Also, note that you cannot do this task on the Facebook desktop version or Facebook for iPhone.

If you want, you can lock your Facebook profile and there will be limited access to your profile for people who are not your friends.

What happens when you lock your profile:

  • Non-friends can’t view your full-size profile picture and cover photo. But your friends can.
  • Your friends can only see the photos and posts on your timeline.
  • You can’t put a post for “Public.”
  • Your non-friends can see a maximum of five pieces of information on your profile.

Let’s look at the steps to lock your Facebook profile.

Android

Go to your profile in the Facebook app.

Press the “three horizontal dots” button and tap the “Lock Profile” option.

Click on the “Lock Your Profile” button.

That’s it. Your profile is now locked.

If you want to unlock it, proceed as follows:

Go to your profile.

Click the “three horizontal dots” button and tap the “Unlock Profile” option.

Click on the “Unlock” option > “Unlock Your Profile” button.

Read: