How to Make a YouTube Video Private

You can make your existing and new YouTube video(s) private.

Only you and the users you pick can see your private YouTube video.

Typically, the private video will not be shown in these places:

Search results

Your channel

Subscriber feed

Recommendations and related videos

In this post, we will see the steps to make YouTube videos private on YouTube (PC), YouTube app (Android) and YouTube Studio (Android).

Let’s get started.

​To Make a New Private Video on YouTube

You can make a video private while uploading it to YouTube and here are the steps:

Click on the “Upload” icon at the top.

Now, you can see a drop-down list. By default, all the videos uploaded to YouTube are public, and that is why the drop-down list is showing the “Public” option.

Open the drop-down list and then select “Private.”

Private selected in drop-down list

That is all. Your video will be a private video. In case, if you want to share the private video with anyone, follow the below steps:

After you selected the video, you can see the “Share” button under the drop-down list, which is beside the video title field. Click on it and then you can see a pop-up.

In that pop-up, input the email address of the person(s) whom you want to look at the video. Hit the “OK” button on the pop-up.

Complete the video upload, and the person(s) you specified will be notified about your private video.

Note:

If you want all your future uploading videos to be private, then follow the below steps:

Go to the “Upload defaults” section.

On the right side of the screen, you can see “Privacy,” and beside it, you can see a drop-down list.

Open that drop-down list and select “Private.”

Click on the “Save” button at the top.

Private is selected in the drop-down list of Upload defaults section

That is all. All your future uploading videos will be private videos.

​To Make Individual YouTube Video Private

Go to the Video Manager.

Find the video that you want to make as private. Click on “Edit” which is underneath that video title.

Under the “Basic info” tab, you can see a drop-down list beside the video title field.

Open that drop-down list and then select “Private.”

Share button underneath drop-down list

Click on the “Share” button, which is beneath the drop-down list, and then you can see a pop-up. In that pop-up, input the email address of the person(s) to whom you want to share this video.

Hit the “OK” button on that pop-up.

Share with others popup in YouTube

You can see the “Save changes” button at the bottom if you do not use the “Share” button. Else, you can see the “Share” button. Hit that button.

To Make Multiple YouTube Videos Private at Once

Select the videos by clicking on the checkbox beside them.

Now, open the “Actions” drop-down list at the top.

Click on the “Private” option.

Private option

In the confirmation pop-up, select the checkbox and then click the “Yes, submit” button.

Confirmation popup

Note: To share your private videos with other people, open each private video individually and then find the “Share” button. Input the email address of the person(s) to whom you want to share and then hit “OK.”

Now, you can see the “Share” button at the bottom. Click on it.

To Make All YouTube Videos Private at Once

By default, Video Manager shows 30 videos on a page. If you have 30 videos or below, follow the below steps:

Click on the checkbox beside the “Actions” drop-down list.

Now, open the “Actions” drop-down list and then select “Private.”

In the confirmation pop-up, select the checkbox and then hit the “Yes, submit” button.

If you have over 30 videos, here are the steps:

Click on the checkbox beside the “Actions” drop-down list.

Click on “Select all your videos” link.

Click on the “Actions” drop-down list and then hit “Private.”

Select the checkbox and then hit the “Yes, submit” button in the confirmation pop-up.

Note: To share your private videos with other people, open each private video individually, and then find the “Share” button. Input the email address of the person(s) to whom you want to share and then hit “OK.”

Now, click on the “Share” button at the bottom.

​To Make a YouTube Video Private Using YouTube App

Open the YouTube app.

Click on Library > My videos.

Select a video that you want to change as a private video. Click on Overflow Menu (three vertical dots) beside that video title.

Click “Edit.” Scroll down until you see “Privacy.”

Beneath “Privacy,” you can see a drop-down list. Open it and select “Private.”

Private selected in YouTube app

Hit the icon at the top right corner.

Note: There is no option to do this task for multiple or all videos at once.

Also, there is no “Share” option (used to share private videos) on YouTube app for Android.

​To Make a YouTube Video Private Using YouTube Studio

Open the YouTube Studio app.

Tap Hamburger icon (three vertical lines) > Videos.

Tap the video and then hit the “Pencil” icon at the top.

Scroll down until you see the drop-down list under “Privacy.”

Open the drop-down list and then choose “Private.”

Hit “Save” at the top.

Private selected in YouTube Studio

Note: There is no option to do this task for multiple or all videos at once.

Also, there is no “Share” option (used to share private videos) on YouTube Studio for Android.

Here are some important things to note:

The YouTube app and YouTube Studio do not have the “Share” button, which is used to share private YouTube videos. It is only available in the YouTube web version.

Also, note that private videos do not have comments.

Keep in mind that the person(s) with whom you have shared the private video should sign into their Google account to see the video.

Remember that you can make your YouTube playlists as private.