A Guide on Messages App (Android) (2020)

In this post, we’ll see:

How to Forward a Text Message

  1. Open the Messages app.
  2. Open the conversation which contains the message you want to forward.
  3. Long press the message you wish. Hit the three vertical dots at the top and then tap Forward.
  4. Now, in the Forward message pop-up, you can see the numbers for which you’ve sent a message or from which you’ve got a message. If you find the number you prefer, then tap on it and then see step 7. Otherwise, hit the New message option.
  1. I choose the New message option. Now, you can look at this screen in which you can see the To field.
  1. In the To field, enter the name, phone number or email (if you enter an email address, then remember that the message will be forwarded as MMS). Choose the contact or its number you prefer or tap the Enter key on the keyboard, depending upon the one you’re entering.
  2. Now, you can see the message in the compose box. Edit the message in the compose box if you wish.
  3. Hit the SMS, and the message will be forwarded.

How to Enable or Disable Delivery Reports

  1. Open the Messages app in your Android device.
  2. Tap three vertical dots at the top > Settings > Advanced.
  3. Hit the Get SMS delivery reports option.

How to Enable or Disable Auto-Download MMS When Roaming

  1. Launch Messages app.
  2. Hit three vertical dots at the top > Settings > Advanced.
  3. Tap Auto-download MMS when roaming option.

How to Archive Text Messages

  1. Open Messages app.
  2. Select the conversation(s) you want to archive.
  3. Hit the Archive icon at the top, which you can find beside the Trash can icon.

Here’s an important thing to note: The archived conversation will be automatically unarchived if it receives a message or you send a message from it.

How to View Archived Conversations

Hit the three vertical dots at the top and then tap Archived. Now, you can view the conversations you’ve archived.

How to Unarchive Archived Conversations

Select the archived conversation(s). Hit the Unarchive icon at the top.

How to Delete Text Messages

Note: Before proceeding back up your text messages if you prefer. If you need help with that, check out our guides here.

How to Delete Text Message(s) from a Conversation

  1. Open Messages app.
  2. Open a conversation that contains the message(s) you want to delete.
  3. Now, select the text message(s) you want.
  4. Tap the Trash can icon at the top.
  5. In the pop-up, pick Delete.

How to Delete Conversation(s)

  1. Launch Messages app.
  2. Select the conversation(s) you prefer.
  3. Tap the Trash can icon at the top.
  4. In the pop-up, choose Delete.

How to Delete All Conversations at Once

  1. Install and open the SMS Backup & Restore app.
  2. Tap the Get Started button. Provide permissions.
  3. Now, you can see the main screen.
  4. Tap three vertical lines > Tools > Delete messages or phone calls.
  5. In the pop-up, unselect the Phone calls and select the Messages. Tap the Yes.
  1. Now, you can see a pop-up which states that you need to temporarily set the SMS Backup & Restore app as the default SMS app to do this “Delete” task. Tap the Ok.
  2. In the pop-up, tap Yes.
  3. The app will do the rest.
  4. Once the messages are deleted, set the app which you use for the text messages as your default SMS app.

How to Enable Dark Mode

  1. Open Messages app.
  2. Hit three vertical dots at the top right.
  3. In the menu, you can see Enable dark mode option between Messages for web and Settings. Hit it.

Note: to disable dark mode, follow steps 1 and 2 and then hit the Disable Dark Mode option.

How to Enable or Disable Auto-Download MMS

Messages app automatically download MMS by default.

If you’re not a fan, here’s how you can turn it off:

  1. Open Messages app.
  2. Hit three vertical dots at the top.
  3. On the menu, hit the Settings option.
  4. Hit Advanced.
  5. Tap the Auto-download MMS option to turn it off.

Notes:

  • When you turn off Auto-download MMS, it’ll also disable Auto-download MMS when roaming option.
  • You can revert using the above steps.