How to Like and Dislike a YouTube Video (and More)

You can like or dislike YouTube videos.

Liking a video means that you have loved and enjoyed the video content. Disliking a video is the opposite of liking a video.

Let’s see how to like and dislike a YouTube video and some other topics. In this case I use Windows 10 PC, Android and iOS.

How to Like and Dislike a YouTube Video

Note: The following steps are the same for the YouTube desktop version and the YouTube app (Android and iPhone).

If you are on a PC, go to YouTube and log in. If you are on Android or iPhone, open the YouTube app.

Open the YouTube video you like to watch.

If you want to like the video, click the “Thumbs up” icon below the video player.

If you want to dislike the video, click the “Thumbs down” icon below the video player.

If you want to undo a like, click on the “Thumbs up” icon. To undo a dislike, you need to hit the “Thumbs down” icon.

If you like or dislike a video, the number of likes or dislikes increases. But no one except you knows that you liked or disliked the video.

Remember that when you reverse a like or dislike, the count gets decreased.

Whenever you like a video, it is automatically added to the “Liked videos” playlist, which can contain a maximum of five thousand videos.

How to Remove Liked Videos from YouTube

Note that removing liked videos will also undo your likes. To remove videos from the “Liked videos” playlist, follow the instructions below.

PC

If you are on the desktop version of YouTube, follow these steps:

Go to YouTube. Sign in, if not already.

Hit the “Liked videos” (which is underneath “Watch later“) from the left sidebar.

Now, you can see videos that you liked.

Remember that there is no option to remove all Liked videos at once, but you can remove them individually.

To do this, move the mouse over the video you want to remove from the playlist and click the three horizontal dots > Remove from Liked videos.

Note: Remember that undoing like as said in the above section is an alternate method to do this task.

Read: YouTube Keyboard Shortcuts

Android or iPhone

Open the YouTube app.

Tap “Library” at the bottom.

Hit “Liked videos.”

Now, hit the three vertical dots next to the video you want to remove.

Tap “Remove from Liked videos.”

That’s it. The video has been removed from the “Liked videos” playlist of your account.

Note: Remember that undoing like as said in the above section is an alternate method to do this task.

How to Hide Likes and Dislikes on YouTube

Every video has the option to like or dislike it.

If you want to remove the possibility of liking and disliking your video, then this is not possible as YouTube has no way of doing so.

But you can hide the likes and dislikes count of your videos from the viewers.

Remember that it only hides the count from the viewers. Viewers can still like or dislike the video. YouTube can still count the number of likes and dislikes of the video and show them to you in the YouTube Studio.

Here you see the steps to hide likes and dislikes on YouTube. Here, I use Windows 10 PC, Android, and iOS.

How to Hide Likes and Dislikes in a Video You’re Uploading

PC

In the “Upload videos” pop-up, make sure you are in the “Details” tab.

Scroll down until you see “More Options.” Hit it.

Uncheck “Show how many viewers like and dislike this video.”

That’s all.

Note: If you want to display, follow the steps above, but check instead to uncheck.

How to Hide Likes and Dislikes in Existing Videos

PC

Go to YouTube Studio.

Click “Videos” in the left sidebar.

Select the video(s).

Note: If you want to hide dislikes and likes count on all YouTube videos, then choose the first checkbox at the top. You will now see the “Select all” link. Click on it, and all have been selected. Let’s go ahead with the next steps.

Hit “Edit.”

Click on “User ratings.”

Open the drop-down list and select “Off.”

Hit “Update Videos” button.

In the pop-up, select the checkbox and hit “Update Videos.”

That’s all.

Note: If you want to display, follow the steps above, but select “On” instead of “Off.”

Android or iPhone

Open the YouTube Studio app.

Hit the three vertical lines on the upper left.

Hit “Videos.”

Tap the video you want.

Click on the “Pencil” icon at the top.

Navigate to the “Advanced settings” tab.

Disable “Users can view ratings for this video.”

Click “Save” in the upper right.

That’s it.

Note: If you want to display, then follow the above steps but enable instead of disable.

How to Hide Likes and Dislikes in All Newly Uploading Videos

PC

Go to YouTube Studio.

Click “Settings” on the left sidebar.

Click on “Upload defaults.”

Navigate to the “Advanced settings” tab.

Uncheck “Users can view ratings for this video.”

Click “Save.”

That’s it.

Note: If you want to display, follow the steps above, but check instead to uncheck.

Read: