Leaving a WhatsApp group and deleting a WhatsApp group are different.
If you're a participant in a WhatsApp group (keep in mind that admin is a participant too) and you're no longer interested in being a participant of that group, then you can leave it.
If you're the admin of the group (In other words, the one who created the group) and you don't want your WhatsApp group anymore, then you can delete it.
Click the below link depending on your need, and you'll be in the appropriate section where you find the steps to do the task.
Leave a WhatsApp Group
Mute Instead - This option will begin the process of muting the group. If you Mute a group chat, then that chat will not play a notification sound, vibrate, and show the notification when it receives a message.
Cancel - Close this popup.
Exit - This option will let you leave the group.
That's all. You've successfully left the group.
Note: You can leave from multiple groups at the same time by using the above steps.
Here are a couple of important things to note:
After you left the group, a notification will be shown in the group stating that you've left the group.
You'll see the group chat in your "Chats" screen even after you left the group. If you want to delete that group chat, here are the steps:
That's all. The group chat is deleted successfully from the "Chats" screen.
Delete a WhatsApp Group
To delete a group, you need to remove all of its participants first. Here's how you can do that:
That's all. The group is deleted successfully. But, the group chat still exits in your "Chats" screen. To remove group chat from "Chats" screen, tap the "Delete group" option.
In the confirmation popup, you can see "Delete media from my phone" option. Leave it selected if you want the media from the group chat to get deleted. Otherwise, unselect it. Now, hit the "Delete" option.
That's all. All done.
I hope that the information in this guide is useful to you. If you like this guide, share this one with your friends.
How to Leave or Delete a WhatsApp Group