When you give your phone to someone for a while, there is a chance that they may end up with changing your settings or going through your data.
None of us wants that to happen. "Guest Mode," a feature that got introduced in Lollipop, is an easy way to prevent this from happening.
In this post, we will see all about it in detail. Let's get started.
What is Guest Mode on Android
Typically, your device is in your profile. Moreover, there are two additional options available to you regarding the profile:
Guest - when you enable this feature, it shows up a profile with the fresh install of Android.
Whenever you need to give your device to someone for a while, you can switch your profile to guest profile so that they cannot see your apps, data, and settings.
After they have used your device, you can get it back and then switch to your profile, and all the apps and data that are saved in the guest profile will get deleted automatically.
+ Add user - This feature is used to add multiple user profiles to your Android device.
Let's say; you want to share your Android device with your household member. In this case, you can use this option to create an account for that person.
Unlike guest mode, when you switch back to your profile from another user account (let's call that account A), all the apps, data, and settings will get saved to the A's account.
Well, now we know all the options regarding profile. Let's move ahead to the steps to enable guest mode on Android.
Enable Guest Mode on Android
Typically, you can see the following three icons (see below screenshot):
- Your profile (Administrator profile).
- Add guest (used to enable Guest mode).
- Add user (used to add multiple user profiles).
Inside View of Guest Mode
Here is a detailed look at what others can and cannot see in guest mode:
Steps to Disable Guest Mode on Android
Here are few other important things you need to know:
I hope that this post is useful to you. If you like this post, share with your friends.
How to Enable Guest Mode on Android