Amazon's Early Black Friday Deals are going live now. Check out here.

Gmail's Undo Send: What is it and How to Use it?

Sometimes, you have thought of getting your email back after sending it. The Gmail's "Undo Send" feature comes handy in this situation.

Undo Send allows you to withdraw a send email. This option delays sending process of an email and it sends the email to the recipient after the "Send cancellation period" expires.

Keep in mind that the "Send cancellation period" is the amount of time you have to unsend an email.

By default, Undo Send is enabled (in new Gmail interface) and the default "Send cancellation period" is 5 seconds.

If you want to change the "Send cancellation period," then here are the steps:

  • angle-double-right
    ​Sign into your Gmail Account.
  • angle-double-right
    ​Hit Gear icon > Settings.
  • angle-double-right
    Now, you can see a drop-down list beside "Send cancellation period." Open the drop-down list, and you can look at these options: 5 (default), 10, 20, and 30. All these options are seconds. Choose the one you prefer.
  • angle-double-right
    I suggest you to choose 30 seconds so that you can get the most time to unsend email.
Send cancellation period
  • angle-double-right
    ​Hit "Save Changes" button at the bottom.

That is all. From now on, when you send an email, you will see this notification:

Undo option

Click "View message" to view the message you have sent.

Click "Undo" to unsend an email. After you click "Undo," the email becomes draft, and you can see the draft on the compose screen. Hit "Cross" icon at the top if you want to save and close the draft OR hit "Trash Can" icon at the bottom if you wish to discard the draft OR make some modifications to the draft (if you wish) and then send it by hitting "Send" button.

Gmail App for Android

In Gmail for Android​, Undo Send is enabled by default.

In the app, after you send an email, you'll see a notification stating "Sent" and the "Undo" option.

Undo option in Gmail app

You've few seconds to unsend email by tapping on "Undo" option. When you do that, the email becomes draft, and you can see the draft on "Compose" screen.

Hit the Overflow Menu (three vertical dots) at the top, select "Discard" and then tap "Discard" in the confirmation popup to discard the draft OR hit the "Back" arrow at the top beside "Compose" to save and close the draft OR make some modifications to the draft (if you wish) and then tap "Send" icon to send it.

​Additional Hint

You can set the Gmail app to send the email after you confirm. Here are the steps to do that:

  • angle-right
    ​Tap Hamburger icon (three vertical lines) in the Gmail app.
  • angle-right
    Find and tap "Settings." Now, hit "General settings."
  • angle-right
    Scroll down until you see "Confirm before sending." Select it.
Selected Confirm before sending option

That is all. From now on, when you send an email from Gmail app, you will be shown a confirmation popup. Hit "OK" in the popup to send the email.

Confirmation popup

I hope this guide is useful to you. If it is, share this post with your friends.

Gmail's Undo Send: What is it and How to Use it?

Click to Tweet This Post

Also see: