How to Turn Off Geotagging on Android and iPhone?

In this post, we’ll see:

What is Geotagging?

Geotagging is a feature that adds the location information to the photos and videos taken using your Android’s or iPhone’s Camera app.

Find Where a Photo was Taken on Android

  1. Open the Google Photos app.
  2. Tap the image you prefer.
  3. Hit the three vertical dots at the top.
  4. Now, you can see the location under Location.

Find Where a Video was Taken on Android

  1. Launch the Google Photos app.
  2. Hit the video you prefer.
  3. Tap the video and then hit the three vertical dots at the top.
  4. Now, you can see the location under Location.

Find Where a Video was Taken on iPhone

  1. Open Photos app.
  2. Tap Albums at the bottom and then hit Videos.
  3. Hit the video you prefer and then swipe up.
  4. Now, you can see the location under Places.
  5. Hit the map to see it on the big screen. Keep in mind that you can zoom the map as per your liking.

Find Where a Photo was Taken on iPhone

  1. Launch Photos app.
  2. Hit the photo you wish in the Photos tab.
  3. Swipe up the picture.
  4. Now, you can see the location under Places.
  5. Hit the map to see it on the big screen. Remember that you can zoom the map as per your liking.
  6. Tap Grid at the top to get the grid view. There also you can view the location.

Turn On or Off Geotagging on Android

This feature is turned off on Android by default.

Follow the below steps to turn it on:

  1. Launch Camera app.
  2. Slide from left to right. Hit the Gear icon at the top.
  3. Hit the Save location option which you can find under the Save settings section.
  4. Now, you may see a pop-up. In it, tap Ok. After that, if asked, provide Location permission to the Camera app.
Save location popup
Turned on Save location

Notes:

Turn On or Off Geotagging on iPhone X

To turn off:

  1. Open the Settings app.
  2. Tap Privacy which you can find under Battery.
  3. Hit Location Services at the top.
Location Services option
  1. Tap Camera.
  2. Choose Never.
Selected Never option

Notes: