Let’s say: you’re moving (or copying) folder A from Downloads to Documents.
The Documents already contain a folder named A.
Here, by default, you’ll not be notified that the destination folder contains a folder with the same name and the folders will get merged.
Unlike the above situation, if you want to get notified and choose about merging folders, then follow the below steps:
Open File Explorer Options.
Navigate to the View tab.
Unselect the Hide folder merge conflicts option which you can find between Hide extensions for known file types and Hide protected operating system files (Recommended).
Hit the Ok button at the bottom.
From now on, you’ll be shown a confirmation pop-up if the destination location contains a folder with the same name while copying or moving a folder into it.
If you want to go back to the default, select the above-mentioned option and make sure to hit the Ok button at the bottom of the pop-up.
Keep in mind that the Hide folder merge conflicts option does not affect the confirmation pop-up that appears if the destination location has a file with the same name while copying or moving a file into it.