Say you copy or move folder A from Downloads to Documents. Documents already contain folder A.
By default, you aren’t notified that the destination folder has a folder with the same name and that the folders are merged.
If you wish to be notified and decide on merging folders, please follow the steps below.
How to Show or Hide Folder Merge Conflicts
Here are the steps:
Navigate to the View tab.
Uncheck (to show) or check (to hide) the “Hide folder merge conflicts” option.
You can find this one between “Hide extensions for known file types” and “Hide protected operating system files (Recommended).”
Click the OK button at the bottom.
A confirmation pop-up will now appear when a folder with the same name exists on the target when you move or copy a folder.
Note: The “Hide folder merge conflicts” option does not affect the confirmation pop-up that appears when the destination location has a file of the same name while you are copying or moving a file.
Thanks for reading.