How to Enable Delete Confirmation Dialog Box in Windows 11

Here are the steps to enable the delete confirmation dialog box:

  1. Right-click the Recycle Bin icon on the desktop or right-click the space in the Recycle Bin.
  2. Hit Properties.
  3. Enable “Display delete confirmation dialog.”
  4. Hit the OK button.

That’s all. From now on, when you delete a file or folder, you can see the delete confirmation dialog box with the following message:

Are you sure you want to move this folder (or file) to the Recycle Bin?

If you hit the Yes in the popup, the deletion happens.

Notes:

  • To disable the delete confirmation dialog, follow the steps above but disable it instead of enabling it.

Alternative Methods

How to Turn On Delete Confirmation using Registry Editor

Press Windows + R, type regedit, and press Enter key. Hit Yes in the popup.

I suggest you back up the Registry before proceeding.

In the Registry Editor, navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER > Software > Microsoft > Windows > CurrentVersion > Policies > Explorer.

Now, right-click on the right pane blank space and select New > DWORD (32-bit) Value.

Provide name as ConfirmFileDelete and press the Enter key.

Double-click on it and provide 1 in the Value data field.

Hit the OK button. Restart your PC.

That’s all. If you want to reverse, delete the DWORD or provide its value as 0.

How to Enable Delete Confirmation Dialog Box in Windows 11 using Local Group Policy Editor

Open the Run Command Box by pressing Windows + R. Type gpedit.msc and hit the Enter key.

In the Local Group Policy Editor, navigate to User Configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components > File Explorer.

On the right pane, locate and double click the “Display confirmation dialog when deleting files.”

Select Enabled and hit the OK button.

That’s it. If you want to reverse it, follow the steps above, but select Not Configured or Disabled.

Thanks for reading.