How to Delete YouTube Video

How to Delete YouTube Video (2020)

In this post, we’ll see:

Let’s get started.

​How to Delete a Video on YouTube

You can delete your YouTube video.

And in this post, we’ll see the steps to do it on YouTube (PC) and the YouTube app (Android and iPhone).

Before proceeding, I suggest you take a backup of your YouTube video. Let’s get started.

PC 

Go to YouTube Studio. 

Hit the “Videos” in the left sidebar. 

Select the video(s) you want to remove. 

Here’s an important thing to note:

By default, each page shows thirty videos.

You can change that to up to fifty videos using the drop-down list at the bottom.

And remember, only the videos on a page can be removed at once. In other words, only a maximum of fifty videos can be deleted at once.

Hit “More actions.” Click on “Delete forever.”

Select the checkbox in the pop-up.

Hit “Delete Forever.”

Android or iPhone

Open the YouTube app.

Tap “Library” at the bottom.

Hit “Your videos.”

Find the one you want to remove.

Tap three vertical dots beside it.

Hit the “Delete” option.

Tap “Delete” in the confirmation pop-up.

Note: Unfortunately, there is no option to delete multiple or all videos at once using the YouTube app (Android or iPhone).


​How to Make a Private Video on YouTube

You can make your existing and new YouTube video private. Only you and the users you pick can see your private YouTube video.

Typically, the private video will not be shown in these places:

  • Search results
  • Your channel
  • Subscriber feed
  • Recommendations and related videos

Here are some important things to note:

  • Using the YouTube app, you can’t share private YouTube videos. But it’s available in the YouTube desktop version.
  • You can make your YouTube playlists as private.

Here, we’ll see the steps to make a YouTube video private on YouTube (PC) and YouTube app (Android and iPhone).

PC

By default, all the videos uploaded to YouTube are public. But you can make a video private while uploading it to YouTube.

The below steps are for setting “Private” visibility for a new video.

In the video upload screen, navigate to the “Visibility” tab.

Select “Private.”

Hit “Save.”

That’s all. Your video is a private video.

If you want to share the private video with anyone, then follow the below steps:

Go to the YouTube Studio.

Hit “Videos” in the left sidebar.

Hit the video you prefer.

Hit the three vertical dots at the right side of the screen. 

Click on “Share privately.”

Provide the email address of the persons with whom you like to share this private video.

Deselect “Notify via email,” if you don’t want the person(s) get notified about the video via email.

Hit “Save and go back to YouTube Studio” button.

Default

If you want all your future uploading videos to be private, then follow the below steps:

Go to YouTube Studio.

Hit “Settings” in the left sidebar.

In the pop-up, hit “Upload defaults.”

In the “Basic info” tab, open “Visibility” drop-down list.

Select “Private.”

Hit “Save.”

That’s all. All your future uploading videos will be private videos.

For Existing YouTube Videos 

The below steps are for the changing the visibility of existing video(s) to private.

Go to YouTube Studio. 

Hit “Videos” in the left sidebar. 

Choose the video(s) you want. 

Note: If you want to make all YouTube videos private, then choose the first checkbox at the top. Now you see the “Select all” link. Click it, and all are selected. Go ahead with the next steps. 

Hit “Edit.” 

Hit “Visibility.” 

Open the drop-down list and select “Private.” 

Hit “Update Videos” button. 

Select the checkbox in the pop-up. Click on “Update Videos.” 

Android or iPhone 

Follow the below steps to change the existing videos visibility to private. 

Open YouTube app.

Hit “Library” at the bottom. Hit “Your videos.”

Tap the three vertical dots beside the video you prefer.

Hit “Edit.”

Tap the one that is beneath the description.

You see these options: Public, Unlisted, Private, and Scheduled.

Tap “Private.”

Hit “Save” at the top.

Note: There is no option to do this task for multiple or all videos at once.