You can delete WordPress posts or pages if you do not want it anymore.
It is a simple task, and it can be done within a minute. Let's see how to do this task.
Delete WordPress Post or Page
In this instance, I am deleting a single post. The same is the steps for deleting a page.
It will delete the post and move it to the "Trash" section. Here you need to keep two things in mind:
So, if you want to delete the post permanently, then you need to do three more steps:
Delete Multiple WordPress Posts or Pages at Once
In this instance, I am doing the task on posts. However, the same is the steps for pages.
The posts you have deleted will be taken down from your site and moved to the "Trash" section. However, you need to do few more steps to remove them permanently.
If you want to delete all posts of "Trash" section at once, then just click on "Empty Trash" button.
By default, the WordPress only shows 20 posts on a screen.
However, If you want to selectively delete hundreds of posts, then you need to change the number of posts shown on a single screen as per your need. So that you can select and delete them at once using above steps.
Let's say, you have 320 posts and want to delete 315 posts except the first five posts. To do that, here are the steps you need to follow:
Open "Screen Options" at the top. Change the "Number of items per page" to 320 and then click "Apply" button.
Now, you can see the 320 posts on a single screen. Apply the above steps to delete them.
I've tried above instance and successfully deleted 315 posts using the above steps. So, give this method a try if you want to delete selectively hundreds of posts.
After you permanently deleted the posts, you can change the "number of items per page" option to any number as per your need.
Delete all WordPress Posts or Pages at Once
Redirection and Final Thoughts
When you delete a category, page or post, it will show 404.
For instance, I am deleting this post (https:https://www.technologyhint.com/how-to-create-facebook-account-on-pc). After I remove this post when someone tries to access this post, he or she will see a 404.
404 does not provide the good user experience.
So, you can consider redirecting when you have met any one of the following conditions:
If you have met any of the above conditions, then redirect the deleted post, page or category URL with the URL of the relevant content.
For instance, I have met the first condition - having links for the deleted post, and I have relevant content (https:https://www.technologyhint.com/how-to-create-facebook-account-using-facebook-app). In this case, I can make a redirect.
I suggest you to use Redirection plugin for this task. Install and activate the plugin, put the old URL (the deleted URL) and new URL (the URL to which you want to redirect the readers who visit deleted URL), click on "Add redirect" button.
In case, there is no relevant content on your blog to redirect, then you can consider creating one and then redirect to it only when the deleted URL have links or traffic, and you do not want to lose it.
If you have not met any of the above said, then just leave the 404 as it is and it is entirely "Okay" to do so.
You can use the above conditions for handling 404 which occurs while changing URL.
The above is the suggestion I have regarding 404. However, you can handle 404 on your blog as per your wish.
I hope that the information in this post is useful to you. Share this one with your friends, if you like the information in this post.
How to Delete Posts and Pages on WordPress