How to Bypass Recycle Bin in Windows 11

In Windows 11, deleting an item places it in the Recycle Bin by default.

You can bypass the Recycle Bin and delete the item permanently by following these steps:

Select the item(s) you want to delete and press Shift + Delete.

Remember that this keyboard shortcut directly deletes the items without sending them to the Recycle Bin.

A confirmation pop-up will appear. Click “Yes” on it.

That’s it.

The above method is excellent. But how about deleting the item as usual, and it got permanently deleted?

Sounds good to you? Follow the below steps.

Right-click the Recycle Bin icon on the desktop or right-click the blank space in the Recycle Bin.

Hit “Properties” and select C drive.

Select “Don’t move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted.”

Note that if you have a drive other than C on your computer, you need to do the above steps for all of them.

Hit the OK button.

That’s all.

Alternative Methods

How to Skip Recycle Bin using Registry Editor

Press Windows + R, type regedit, and press the Enter key. Hit Yes in the pop-up.

I suggest you back up the Registry before proceeding.

In the Registry Editor, navigate to: HKEY_CURRENT_USER > Software > Microsoft > Windows > CurrentVersion > Policies > Explorer.

Now, right-click on the right pane blank space and select New > DWORD (32-bit) Value.

Provide the name as NoRecycleFiles and press the Enter key.

Double-click on it and provide 1 in the Value data field.

Hit the OK button. Restart your PC.

That’s all.

If you want to reverse, delete the DWORD or provide its value as 0.

How to Bypass Recycle Bin using Local Group Policy Editor

Open the Run Command Box by pressing Windows + R. Type gpedit.msc and hit the Enter key.

In the Local Group Policy Editor, navigate to User Configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components > File Explorer.

In the right pane, locate and double-click “Do not move deleted files to the Recycle Bin.”

Select Enabled and hit the OK button.

That’s it.

If you want to reverse this, follow the steps above, but select Not Configured or Disabled.

Thanks for reading.

See: How to Enable Delete Confirmation in Windows 11